Our Authors

We are Sapphire McMullan-Fisher (SMF) and Roz Hart (RH),  and this ‘mycelium of knowledge’:

  • Abby Glauser (AG)
  • Anna Hopkins (AH)
  • Bob Makinson (ROM)
  • Bryony Horton (BH)
  • Daniel Stanton (DS)
  • David Eldridge (DE)
  • Diana Leemon (DL)
  • Frances Guard (FEG)
  • Guy R Webb (GRW)
  • Ian Hood (IH)
  • John Thompson (JT)
  • Julie Fielder (JF)
  • Kaylene Bansgrove (KB)
  • Melinda Greenfield (MG)
  • Lena Neuenkamp (LN)
  • Neale Bougher (NB)
  • Noushka Reiter (NR)
  • Richard Robinson (RR)
  • Sandra Tuszynska (ST)
  • Stanley Bellgard (SB)
  • Steven Lee Stephenson (SLS)
  • Susanne Prober (SP)
  • Teresa Lebel (TL)
  • Terry Houston (TH)
  • Theresa Bint (TB)
  • Vivian Sandoval (VS).
Roz and Sapphire

About Sapphire


Sapphire is an ecologist who has special interest in the conservation of biodiversity, particularly the macrofungi and mosses. 

Sapphire* has been active with Australian scientific groups like the Australian Network for Plant Conservation, Australian Bryophyte Workshops,  Education Subcommittee of the Australasian Mycological Society,  and numerous community groups including many fungi groups, field naturalist clubs and Landcare groups. 

To read more about her research profile in Research Gate and LinkedIn. She did her doctorate at the University of Tasmania on ‘Surrogates for cryptogam conservation – associations between mosses, macrofungi, vascular plants and environmental variables.’

Having lived in four states and traveled across Australia’s landscapes she has been involved in many of the fungal community groups over the years. She has worked with many of these groups to raise the profile of local fungi and the important roles fungi play in our environment. She is involved in Greening Australia’s Habitat Conservation and Management Course and the new Victorian Nature Stewards program. She particularly enjoys getting out into the bush to discover fungal treasures as often as she can.

About Roz

Roz is an ecologist with a range of working experience from teaching Microbiology at the University of WA to running an Environmental Consulting Business with her husband Ray. 

More recently she worked as the Community Education officer with Mycologist Dr Neale Bougher on the Perth Urban Bushland Fungi project in WA, a project that raised awareness of the importance of fungi in bushlands, concentrating on Urban bushlands and opening many people’s eyes to the wonders of fungi.

Roz has been an active member of the Western Australian Field Naturalists Club for over 30 years and has held many roles on the Club Council over that time. Since the late 1990s Roz has organised fungi talks, workshops and fungi excursions in WA. She organises these activities for all to enjoy through the Club Fungi group, which she started after the Fungimap Conference, in Denmark, Western Australia organised by Katrina Syme in 2001. She also currently President of Fungimap*, Australia’s National Fungi organisation.

She lives in Perth, close to Kings Park which is Perth’s iconic bushland park. Roz enjoys being a volunteer Guide at Kings Park,  where she encourages and educates other guides and the public about the importance of fungi in the bushland. In winter, Perth’s fungi season, Roz can frequently be found leading others into the bushland to see some of the fungi species common in Kings Park.

She loves bushwalking and exploring all over Australia and New Zealand looking for fungi, constantly learning more about our amazing Biodiversity, which she knows comprises at least 3 Fs: Fauna, Flora and Fungi!

Please note * Sapphire & Roz have official and voluntary roles with Fungimap * and Royal Botanic Gardens Victoria (RBGV *), but Fungi4Land activities are organised independently.​

Our Photographers and Designers

Thanks to our designers Ola Roman, and our photographers: Paul Vallier, Sarah Lloyd, and Sumit S Dagar.


Our Editors

We are delighted that we have a great team of editors from around Australia (initials): Ben Gooden (BG), Helen Hayden (HH), Jasmin Packer (JPa), Jeff Powell (JP), John Dearnaley (JD), Louise Morin (LM), Mark Brundrett (MB), Michael Day (MD), Roger Shivas (RS), Sandra Abell (SA), Susan Nuske (SN),  Teresa Lebel (TL) and Tom May (TM). 

This team will provide content oversight and scientific reviews.  

Our Volunteers

Thanks to Yoav Bar-Ness for website support and Ola Roman for help with social media and so much more!